Waking and getting going on Day 3

Once showered, breakfasted and packed up, and when Jeanette was surfacing I set off to explore Waratah further.  I headed downhill on a mapped street which had never been built formally and which could not have been driven on. As I walked towards town I expected to be picked up at the Waratah Roadhouse a while later.

A magical world met me. High above, the sky was a dense blue colour and, closer to the earth, the sun was glowing through enveloping mists.  Every edge was softened. A heavy dew meant the mown grass was covered in water droplets sparkling in any light.

20170305_080142.jpg

I knew there was a large Lake Waratah and made the assumption that the collision of air and water temperatures was creating the delicate fog.  Later I was to see that the misty conditions continued a considerable distance to the west.

20170305_080426.jpg

In the distance I distinguished the Bischoff Hotel.

20170305_080134.jpg

Then when I reached the main road I was able to look around the outside of the historic Post Office.

20170305_080501.jpg

Equipment and water wheels came into view the further I walked.

20170305_080354.jpg

20170305_080726.jpg

A roadside sign alerted me to the waterfall although the fall of water could not be seen from this point. The landscape flowed gently.

20170305_080957.jpg

But it was Lake Waratah which surprised me with its ethereal beauty on the morning of Day 3 of our travels into the southern Tarkine. There was no traffic and no other person around when I approached it. Watch this video and love the silence. On the edges of Lake Waratah, apparently our native Platypus can be seen if you are lucky.

20170305_081634.jpg

 

This entry was posted in Tarkine, Waratah and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Waking and getting going on Day 3

  1. RuthsArc says:

    Lovely photos, Helen, enhanced by the mist. I’m enjoying your Tarkine journey.

    Like

Leave a Reply

